Charles W. Gilchrist Award

Call for nominations!gilchrist

Library patrons, employees, and the public are invited to nominate a fellow library volunteer or philanthropist for the 2017 Charles W. Gilchrist Award. This award is given in memory of former Montgomery County Executive Charles W. Gilchrist, who sought to encourage community participation in Montgomery County. It is presented to an individual, family, family foundation, corporation, or civic group that has demonstrated exceptional service to Montgomery County Public Libraries through volunteer and/or philanthropic support. FOLMC will present the award at the annual Library After Dark fundraiser held during National Library Week on April 8, 2017.

The nomination deadline is November 30.

Click here to submit a nomination.

Nomination Criteria

The nominee should be an exceptional volunteer or donor who has made a significant contribution to the public library system. The nomination must be submitted online. The nomination should include the following information with specific examples:

  • Evidence of volunteer or philanthropic support (hours of service, donations of money or in-kind goods, bequest, etc.).
  • Description of the impact on a specific branch or MCPL.
  • Description of any other volunteer or philanthropic support in Montgomery County or the region.
  • Letters of support (optional) from other charitable organizations detailing nature and impact of support, and innovative approaches to solving community problems. Letters of support should be emailed to

All nominations and letters of support must be received by the deadline, November 30.

Awards Committee

An Awards Committee is appointed to review the nominations and recommend a recipient to the FOLMC Board of Trustees. The Awards Committee consists of representatives from MCPL, the Montgomery County Library Board (MCLB), FOLMC Board, FOL Chapters, Library Advisory Committees (LACs), and past award recipients.

Questions? Call 240-777-0020 or email


2016 Award recipient the Maryland Writers’ Association. Teen Writing Coordinator, Mark Willen, pictured here with student participant, Sydney Sackett.


2015 Award recipient the FOL Silver Spring Chapter. Chapter leaders pictured here with James W. Gilchrist.